Measure and Optimize Mobile Marketing For Your Bottom Line
ROI is the holy grail of mobile app measurement, but determining the ROI of a specific app marketing campaign can be a handful — combining and consolidating multiple spreadsheets from diverse sources, logging in to multiple dashboards, normalizing data across different time zones and currencies, sorting and tabulating by region, platform and app… it’s not as easy as it sounds. Manual ROI calculations are a massive headache. And the more thorough the data gathered, the more prone these figures are to human error.
AppsFlyer’s media cost,revenue & ROI reporting alleviates this pain, helping app marketers measure their media cost and mobile app marketing ROI or ROAS (return on ad spending) simply and easily – without opening a single spreadsheet or secondary dashboard.
Calculating ROI For Mobile App Marketing
Marketers already measure their in-app engagement revenue and mobile ad revenue with AppsFlyer’s unlimited rich in-app event reporting. By matching media cost data provided by ad networks with the revenue data reported by rich in-app events, AppsFlyer can automatically report cord data alongside performance metrics, calculating each campaign’s eCPI, eCPA and ROI in real-time.
Centralized ROI Reporting in the Dashboard
With all media-driven ROI data in one place, marketers can easily compare apples to apples, optimizing based on their most important KPI – your ROI. Campaign, Ad Group, SiteID and creative variation breakdown are also available for a deeper level of insight.
Mobile App ROI Is Directly Tied To Attribution
First-party reports from ad networks will typically calculate cost as an app install occurs – even if this media source did not deliver the last-click prior to install. However, with AppsFlyer, cost is determined based on the last network to deliver a click (last-click attribution), delivering clearer and cleaner cost data.
On top of that, AppsFlyer has a clear view of both incoming revenue (e.g. rich in-app purchase events, ad revenue) and outgoing cost (media cost). This central POV makes it is easier for marketers to monitor the effect of marketing spend on business performance and budget allocations.
Measure ROI from Facebook, Google And Dozens of Leading Networks
Thanks to AppsFlyer’s advanced cost-data integration with Facebook and Google, marketers can easily and automatically measure the ROI of their campaigns running on the top two media sources in mobile advertising.
In addition, there are dozens of networks including Vungle, IronSource, Chartboost and AOL (to name a few), that can automatically send us cost data as part of their pre-configured, automated integration. With the click of a single button, you can start measuring your cost, eCPI, eCPA and ROI in real time.
eCPI & eCPA: The Little ‘e’ That Matters
AppsFlyer also uses cost data to calculate each app and campaign’s effective cost per install (total cost divided by total number of installs), and effective cost per action per in-app event (total cost divided by the number of times the event in question was recorded). Unlike CPI or CPA, the ‘e’ tells you how much you paid (on average) for a new user. This is particularly important when the app experiences some level of viral growth (organic multipliers). Why is this important? Let’ explore the following examples:
If you paid $1000 for 1000 installs your CPI is $1. But since the 1,000 installs also had a viral effect (an organic multiplier of .5), the number of new installs actually hit 1,500 which means the eCPI was 66 cents. If that’s how much you pay for a user, you know you need to make at least 67 cents (not $1.01) to be ROI positive. Remember the golden rule for successful app marketers: LTV > eCPI.
If your total cost is $55,000 and your defined action “reached level 10” was recorded 2,000 times, than your eCPA is $27.5. Once again, this creates your LTV target (higher than $27.5) as you work towards achieving a positive ROI.
For more information on LTV (lifetime value) and ROI, we recommend the following resources: