Case Study

musical.ly 利用深度分析扩展 全球业务 1 在

  • 在 60 多个国家排名第
    一的应用

品牌背景

musical.ly 成立于 2013 年,从一家小型的初创企业,迅速成长为全球最大的视频社区。该公司主要有两款产品,分别是视频社区应用 musical.ly 和直播应用 live.ly,这两款应用深受全球年轻人的喜爱,取得了现象级的成功。

 

 

挑战

为了加快增长速度,musical.ly 需要了解哪些特定的营销活动推动了新安装的增长,以及新用户质量和渠道下的留存率和互动率。musical.ly 并不是简单地收集相关指标,而是寻求了解和重塑用户行为。例如,尽管有些平台的 CPI 很低而且留存率相似,但是应用内的用户行为却有很大的差异。Musical.ly希望了解此类用户行为模式,以便构建更好的用户互动资料,并将其应用于优化营销活动中。

此外,很多营销人员关注如何监测付费媒体,musical.ly 也意识到了可扩展性和可持续性的重要意义。他们需要了解从每个新媒体平台到付费和自然渠道的所有营销渠道的增长动力。

合作

在对数据质量和准确度进行全面考察并咨询同行后,musical.ly 选择了 AppsFlyer 作为其监测供应商。

  • 了解增长情况

    通过 AppsFlyer,musical.ly 掌握了跨渠道增长情况每个环节的相关信息。从通过 Facebook和 Google 等渠道的付费增长到同行邀请、付费媒体和影响力营销,musical.ly 的数据得出了对用户增长和客户体验过程非常深入的分析。

    通过对接所有营销数据渠道,musical.ly 能够监测每次营销活动产生的影响。例如,musical.ly 将地区自然安装峰值与其品牌监测解决方案中的媒体和影响力覆盖范围相关联。

    借助数据透视和自定义控制面板灵活使用数据
    增长团队面临的最大挑战就是数据过载。musical.ly 使用 AppsFlyer 的数据透视报告和自定义控制面板根据地区、团队和容量整理数据。这样不仅可以令其团队关注于相应的数据和KPI,还有助于基准设定和快速高效地进行跨团队和地区报告。

  • 这种独特的设置快速改变了他们的内部团队行为,musical.ly 的营销团队不再仅限于收集数据,而是主动发现数据的更多用途。利用大量可以获得的数据,业绩趋势得以十分清晰的呈现出来。因此,A/B 测试变得更简单更快速。他们开始更多地从整体角度来审视 KPI。此外,他们开始调整并测试市场上每个新增的 KPI。KPI 不断增加内容,纳入了安装增量、成本、留存率、互动质量、互动用户角色模型、第 7 天和第 30 天留存率等。这种更全面的方式可以加快增长速度,提高 LTV 和营销 ROI。

    数据透视报告可以令团队轻松深入了解数据,复制、改写并分享他们的报告;从所有可能的角度审视数据,并轻松开展协作。

  • 了解行为,激活渠道

    musical.ly 使用群组报告、留存率报告和活动报告设定了一系列 KPI,以满足独特的增长需求。例如,当其他营销人员关注第 3 天或第 7 天留存率时,musical.ly发现新视频的数量、视频浏览量以及每名新用户的社交联系人数量等数据信号是预测用户 LTV、构建类似受众群体和访客找回优化的关键。

    AppsFlyer 控制面板迅速成为他们日常掌握增长和进行互动深入分析、获取真实信息的来源,musical.ly 进一步将他们的所有 AppsFlyer 转化前数据与他们的 BI 团队的数据进行同步,以提供关于安装前和转化后客户体验过程的更加深入的整体分析。

    利用这些可靠的互动资料和模型,musical.ly 充分利用了 AppsFlyer 与其所有全球平台的对接功能,以同步应用内互动数据和目标受众群组数据,从而提高地区活跃度,进行访客找回和优化。以前,与各个平台进行数据同步需要手动设置和管理。但是,有了 AppsFlyer 之后,数据同步都可以完全提前配置,耗时不到一分钟。

成就

musical.ly 和 live.ly已经成为美国和欧洲广受欢迎的主流社交平台。在 iOS 应用商店中,musical.ly 在美国、加拿大、英国、德国、巴西和菲律宾等国家已升至第一的位置。凭借难以置信的全球用户增长速度和每天上千万的活跃用户,musica.ly 将继续加大在战略数据驱动型增长方面的投资。

 

立即下载 

AppsFlyer 的移动数据为我们的增长提供助力AppsFlyer 的数据准确性和灵活性、全球合作关系以及全天候的 24x7 支持无与伦比。
Claire Sun
业务增长主管

Case Study

musical.ly Leverages Deep Insights to Scale Their Global Business With AppsFlyer

  • #1 App
    60+ Countries

BACKGROUND

Founded in 2013, musical.ly has grown from a small start-up to one of the world’s largest global video community. Their two primary properties, musical.ly, a video social app and live.ly, a live broadcasting app, have both enjoyed phenomenal success with youth around the world.

CHALLENGES

In order to scale their growth engine, musical.ly needed to understand both what specific campaigns drove their new install growth, as well as their new user quality and down-funnel retention and engagement. Rather than simply collecting metrics, musical.ly sought to understand and shape their user behavior. For example, while some platforms seemed to have low CPIs and similar retention, their in-app user behavior differed dramatically. Musical.ly wanted to understand these user behavior patterns in order to build better engagement profiles that could then be used to optimize campaigns.

Additionally, whereas many marketers focus on measuring paid media, musical.ly recognized the importance of scalability and sustainability. They needed to understand the incremental lift of every marketing channel, from new media partners to earned and organic channels.

ACTIVATION

Following a thorough data quality and accuracy review, as well as consultation with industry peers, musical.ly selected AppsFlyer as their measurement provider.

  • Understanding Growth
    Using AppsFlyer, musical.ly mapped every step in their growth funnel across every channel. From paid growth through partners like Facebook and Google, to peer-invites, earned media and influencer marketing, musical.ly’s data yielded powerful insights into their user growth and customer journey.

    By integrating all of their marketing data sources, musical.ly was able to measure the impact of every marketing effort. For example, musical.ly associated spikes in regional organic installs with media and influencer coverage in their brand monitoring solution.

  • Putting Data to Work with Pivot and Custom Dashboards
    One of the biggest challenges growth teams face is data overload. Using AppsFlyer’s Pivot reports and Custom Dashboards, musical.ly organized their data by region, team and capability. This not only kept their teams focused on the right data and KPIs, but it helped to facilitate benchmarking and executive reporting across teams and regions quickly and efficiently.

    This unique setup quickly changed their internal team behavior; musical.ly’s marketing teams weren’t just collecting data, they were actively finding broader use for it. With accessible data, performance trends jumped off the screen. As a result, A/B testing became easier and faster. They began looking at KPIs more holistically. Furthermore, they began adapting and testing new, additional KPIs in each market. KPIs grew to include incremental install volume, cost, retention, quality of engagement, engagement persona, day 7 and day 30 retention and more. This holistic approach led to faster growth, improved LTV and marketing ROI.

    Pivot reports allowed teams to easily dive very deep into their data, clone, adapt and share their reports; looking at their data from every possible perspective and collaborating with ease.

  • Understanding Behavior, Activating Partners
    Using their cohort, retention and activity reports, musical.ly developed a series of KPIs that address their unique growth needs. For example, where other marketers tend to focus on high-level metrics like day 3 or day 7 retention, musical.ly found that data signals such as the number of videos created, videos viewed and the number of social connections for each new user, were key to predicting user LTV, building lookalike audiences and retargeting optimization.

    While the AppsFlyer dashboard quickly became their daily source of truth for growth and engagement insights, musical.ly further synced all of their AppsFlyer pre-conversion data with their BI team to develop deeper, holistic insights across their pre-install and post-conversion customer journeys.

    With these robust engagement profiles and models in place, musical.ly leveraged AppsFlyer’s integrations with all of their global partners to sync in-app engagement data and target audiences for regional activation, retargeting and optimization. In the past, syncing data with each partner required manual setup and management. However, with AppsFlyer, every data sync was fully pre-configured, taking under a minute to set up.

IMPACT

musical.ly and live.ly have become wildly popular, mainstream social platforms in the US and Europe. musical.ly climbed up to the number 1 position in the iOS App Store, including the US, Canada, UK, Germany, Brazil, and the Philippines. With incredible worldwide user growth and tens of millions of daily active users, musica.ly continues to invest in strategic, data-driven growth.

 

DOWNLOAD 

With AppsFlyer’s all-around data analysis, innovation and 24x7 professional support team, we make better decisions on our global growth strategy.
Claire Sun
Head of Business Growth