在移动广告领域, ROI(投资回报率)是最重要也是最令人畏惧的一个缩写。当谈到衡量移动行业ROI时,设想与现实确实有着很大的差异。

1) 定义
指纹识别,又称为设备识别,是移动广告领域中将点击与安装进行匹配的一种识别方法,从而实现归因的目的。该方法使用公共可用参数(仅列举几个例子,如设备名称、设备类型、OS 版本、IP 地址、运营商)构成与特定设备属性匹配的数字指纹 ID。
2) 回退方法
指纹识别是概率模型,因此并非 100% 准确。因此只有在诸如 Google Play Referrer等确定性标识符以及 IDFA 或 Google 广告 ID 等设备标识符无法用于归因(例如,在点击来自移动网页或数据并非来自广告平台时)的情况下才会使用该方法。
3) 短期内的高准确性
点击与安装之间的时间间隔越长,用户更改他/她设备中某项设置的可能性就越高,因此需要创建一个新指纹(由于移动用户的位置不断变化,因而这种方式对于 IP 来说尤其适用)。这就是为什么归因窗口往往较短,通常是 24 小时。在应用安装营销活动中,绝大部分的点击、安装和首次应用打开都发生在 1-2 小时内,指纹在上述各种情况中都发挥极其准确的作用。
4) 主要用于 iOS
由于referrer方法无法用于 iOS(但此方法却可以通过 Google Play 用于 Android 系统),指纹在 Apple 设备上应用的更为常见。由于Apple设备只能使用一个确定性方法进行归因,因此使用回退方法的可能性非常大。
5) 匿名
移动指纹是隐私信息,不包含任何个人可识别信息 (PII)。
6) 指纹识别 2.0:机器学习
随着对标准参数的不断超越,以及大数据时代的不断发展,指纹识别的准确性将会达到更高层次。执行机器学习的主要方法是对确定性数据进行算法训练,从而预测概率数据。比如,我们可以通过学习设备ID匹配的点击,从而预测虽然设备ID不匹配但可能是潜在受众的点击。但是,只有在足够大的范围内才能正确使用这种机器学习的方法。毕竟,这也是为什么我们称之为大数据的原因。

6 Things You Need to Know About Fingerprinting for Mobile Attribution [Cheat Sheet] - AppsFlyer
3659Reads

6 Things You Need to Know About Fingerprinting for Mobile Attribution [Cheat Sheet]

 
 
1) Definition
Fingerprinting, AKA device recognition, is an identification method used in mobile advertising to match a click to an install for the purpose of attribution. It uses uses publicly available parameters (i.e. device name, device type, OS version, platform, IP address, carrier, to name just a few), to form a digital fingerprint ID that statistically matches specific device attributes.
  
2) Fall-back method
Fingerprinting is a probabilistic model and therefore is not 100% accurate. That’s why it’s only used when deterministic identifiers like Google Play Referrer and device identifiers such as IDFA or Google Advertising ID are not available for attribution (e.g. when the click comes from the mobile web, or when the data is not passed by an ad network).
  
3) Highly accurate in short term
The longer the time gap between a click and an install, the greater the chance that the user would change a setting in his/her device, thereby creating a new fingerprint (this is especially true with IPs as mobile users constantly change their location). That’s why the attribution window is short, usually 24 hours. In app install campaigns, the vast majority of clicks, installs and first app opens occur within 1-2 hours, in which case the fingerprint is extremely accurate.
  
4) Used primarily in iOS
As the referrer method is not available in iOS (and almost always available in Android via Google Play), fingerprinting is used more often on Apple devices. With only one deterministic option to work with, there’s a greater likelihood to use the fallback method.
  
5) Anonymous
A mobile fingerprint is privacy compliant and does not include and personally identifiable information (PII).
  
6) Fingerprinting 2.0: Machine learning
Going beyond standard parameters and into the realm of big data can take the accuracy of fingerprinting to the next level. The main method to execute this is by having algorithms train on deterministic data to inform probabilistic data. For example, we can learn from clicks that were matched using a device ID and clicks that didn’t match but were probable candidates. However, the right learnings can only be drawn when there is scale. After all, it’s called big data for a reason.